top of page
Search
  • Khoo Wei Heng

SBP Week 05

After rigging, I moved on to texturing. This part is relatively easily. I could do the the texture for the whole body in two days within Substance Painter. However, the problem comes when I have different texture sets sharing the same UV map, and I have export for Unity HDRP.

Substance painter does not combine texture sets for automatically for you, meaning you have you have put multiple materials for your character in Unity, which is not very optimised for the game file size. However, without a program to combine the texture sets, I would have to merge them in photoshop and colour the spaces in between, which taxing, takes a lot of time and might end up not working all the time.

I took 2 days to find these plugins, but as far as I know, they work wonders.




Using this texture set combiner, I can combine the different texture sets into 1 UV. However, this forces you to export your textures in a config that is not supported in Unity HDRP.

So, I would need another plugin that combines the texture into the ones supported in Unity,

Base Map: Albedo(RGB) + Opacity(Alpha)

Mask Map: Metallic(Red) + Ambient Occlusion(Green) + Glossiness(Alpha)




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page